province. For purposes of appeals under the Canada Pension Plan, the board reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Health and Welfare.

Pension Review Board. The board was created under the Minister of Veterans Affairs by the amendments to the Pension Act 1971 (SC 1970-71, c.31). Further amendments were made May 12, 1977 by the Act to Amend the Pension Act. Composed of a chairman, deputy chairman and three other members, the board is an independent and autonomous body that hears appeals in the National Capital Region from pension applicants dissatisfied with decisions of an Entitlement Board or two members of the Canadian Pension Commission. The board is also the responsible body when matters of interpretation of the acts are at issue.

Petro-Canada. On July 30, 1975 the Petro-Canada Act (SC 1974-75-76, c.61) established Petro-Canada as a Crown corporation to increase the supply of energy available to Canadians, to assist the government in the formulation of its national energy policy and to increase the Canadian presence in the petroleum industry. The corporation consists of a board of directors composed of a chairman, president and not more than 13 other persons appointed by the Governor in Council. Its head office is at Calgary, Alta. The corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Pilotage Authorities. The Pilotage Act (SC 1971, c.52) established the Atlantic Pilotage Authority, the Laurentian Pilotage Authority, the Great Lakes Pilotage Authority and the Pacific Pilotage Authority as proprietary corporations as specified in Schedule D of the Financial Administration Act. The objects of each authority are to establish, operate, maintain and administer in the interests of safety an efficient pilotage service within the region set out in respect of the authority. Each of the four authorities has a chairman and not more than six other members appointed by the Governor in Council for a term not exceeding 10 years. The Pilotage Authorities report to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Post Office Department. Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (RSC 1970, c.P-14) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of the money order service.

The department's headquarters is in Ottawa, with regional headquarters in Halifax, Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. District offices are located in St. John's, Halifax, Saint John, Quebec City, Montreal, Ottawa, North Bay, Toronto, London, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton and Vancouver.

Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (PFRA). PFRA was established in 1935 (RSC 1952, c.214) to assist in the rehabilitation of agricultural lands seriously affected by drought and soil drifting in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta. Since then it has developed 101 community pastures on 2.5 million acres of marginal and submarginal land and continues to operate 96 of them. It has also been responsible for construction of many large irrigation and water storage projects. PFRA has assisted technically and/or financially in the construction of 135,000 dugouts, dams, wells and irrigation projects for on-farm water supplies. In addition, PFRA operates a tree nursery which each year distributes several million trees free to farmers for the development of farm and field shelterbelts.

Privy Council Office. For administrative purposes, the Privy Council Office is regarded as a department of government for which the Prime Minister has responsibility as set forth in PC 1962-240. The Clerk of the Privy Council, under whose direction its functions are carried out, is considered as a deputy head and takes precedence among the chief officers of the public service. The authority of the Privy Council Office is to be found in Sections 11 and 130 of the British North America Act, 1867, which constituted a council to aid and advise in the Government of Canada, to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. In 1940, with the wartime development of Cabinet committees and the consequent need for orderly secretarial procedures such as agenda, explanatory memoranda and minutes, the Clerk of the Privy Council was designated Secretary to the Cabinet, and the Cabinet Secretariat was brought into being in the Privy Council Office. Since 1946, the Privy Council Office has been further reorganized, developed and enlarged and certain administrative functions of the Privy Council Office and the Prime Minister's Office have been closely integrated in the interests of efficiency and economy.

The organization of the Privy Council Office consists primarily of the Cabinet Secretariat with two divisions reporting to the Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet: Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations); and Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Plans). Each division contains a number of secretariats that support the Cabinet and its committees. The secretariats prepare and circulate agenda and necessary documents to ministers, and record and circulate decisions. They communicate with departments and agencies of the government, and provide advisory support for the Prime Minister as required. Other sections within the PCO advise the Prime Minister on senior appointments, constitutional matters, emergency and long-range planning, and the exercise of his prerogative to allocate responsibilities between ministers. Within the Privy Council Office, submissions to the Governor in Council are received,